Department At a Glance

In Order to give a concrete shape to the commitments of the State Government to ensure Access, Equity and Quality of Higher and Technical Education to the youths of Jharkhand, the Department of Higher and Technical Education was established by merging Higher Education and Technical Education which were working as separate departments through memo no. 1235 Dated. 13.07.2015. Currently, a total of 447 Higher and Technical Education Institutions are functional in the State. The Current GER of the State is 17.0 (AISHE 2021-22) which is way behind the National Average of 27.3. To bridge this gap, the DHTE is taking various initiatives by its 2 directorates i.e. ‘Higher Education’ and ‘Technical Education’ respectively.

No Image Hon’ble Minister
No Image

Shri Rahul Kumar Purwar ( IAS )

Principal Secretary
No Image

Shri Sunil Kumar ( IAS )

Director of Technical Education
No Image

Shri Ramniwas Yadav ( IAS )

Director of Higher Education

Acts, Rules, Statutes, Regulation

Notice / Notification

News & Updates